
 
 
 

Your application will not be processed or will be delayed unless you: 
[  ] 1. Complete the application including signing and dating the first page. 
[  ] 2. Write in your social security number.  
[  ] 3. Attach the specified documents listed on this application. 
[  ] 4. Attach the specified fee listed on this application. 
[  ] 5. Make a photocopy of the completed application for your records. 
 

By signing below, the applicant swears that all information provided on this application is true, accurate and that the credential 
requirements are met.  Notice:  Information collected may be used for participation surveys, eligibility for approvals, law enforcement 

(including child support and tax delinquency enforcement) purposes and other secondary purposes.  The department may also provide this 
information to requesters pursuant to Wisconsin’s open records law, ss. 19.31-19.39 stats.  Social security numbers are required when 
applying for a license per Wisconsin Stats, but they may not be disclosed to anyone except other State of Wisconsin governmental agencies. 
 

 
   __________________________________ ______________________________ 
    Applicant’s Signature   Date (mo/day/yr) 
  

Send application and payment to:  DSPS Trades Credentialing, PO Box 78780, Milwaukee, WI  53293-0780. 

Overnight mail delivery and office location:  DSPS Trades Credentialing, 1400 East Washington Ave., Madison, WI 53703 

All other correspondence:  DSPS Trades Credentialing, , PO Box 7082, Madison, WI  53707   Phone: 608-261-8467.  TTY:  Contact through 
Relay or DspsSbCredentialing@wi.gov. 
 

Application and License Fee (nonrefundable):  $115.00          class code 7655 
Make checks payable to: State of WI – DSPS. The fee consists of a $15 application fee and a license fee of $100.  When the license is 
issued it will be good for four years from date of issuance.  No person may install a manufactured home onto a foundation or other 
support system unless the person holds a manufactured home installer license, or is under the direct supervision of a person who holds 
the manufactured home installer license.  The owner of a manufactured home who will reside in the home is exempt from this  
rule.  This exemption does not apply to the owner who contracts for or otherwise arranges for the installation.  A person is not required 
to hold a manufactured home installer license for electrical, plumbing or HVAC work associated with the installation of a 
manufactured home. 
 

Reason for Credential:  A person who holds a license issued by the department as a licensed manufactured home installer 

may install, or supervise the installation of, a manufactured home onto a foundation or other support system pursuant to s. 101.96, 
Stats.   
 

Education Hours Required to Renew:  The renewal of a license as a manufactured home installer shall be 

contingent upon the installer obtaining at least 12 hours of acceptable continuing education three months prior to the expiration date of 
their credential.  A person who holds a license as a manufactured home installer may apply to the department for waiver of the 
continuing education requirements on the grounds of prolonged illness or disability or similar circumstances.  Each application for 
waiver shall be considered individually on its merits by the department. 

 

Manufactured Home Installer License 

Applicant Information       
Applicant’s Social Security No: 
      

Applicant’s Name (First, Middle and Last): 
      

Address No. & Street, or P.O. Box: 
      

City, Town or Village, State, Zip + 4 Code: 
      

Country, If Other Than United States: 
      

Telephone No. (include area code): 
      

If Available, Fax No. (include area code): 
      

If Available, E-mail Address: 
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Requirements of Credential: A person who installs or supervises the installation of manufactured homes as a licensed 

manufactured home installer shall: 
 

• Be at least 18 years of age, 

• Not be found responsible in any judicial or administrative forum of any violation of s. 101.96, Stats., during the 2 years before the 
date on which the person’s license application is submitted, 

• Not be found responsible in any judicial or administrative forum during the two years before the date on which the person’s 
license application is submitted for any failure to perform an installation of a manufactured home as required under contract or for 
defrauding any person with regard to the provision of installation services,  

• Be responsible for compliance with the installation requirements of SPS 321 and 327, and 

• Carry on his or her person the license issued by the department while performing or conducting the activity or activities permitted 
under the license. 

1. Fill in the applicant’s birth date (month/day/year, example 04/02/60):  
 

A person who holds a manufactured home installer may not contract with another person or entity to engage in construction 
business activities unless the person or entity holds a credential under SPS 305.30(1)(a) or (b). 
 

 

Applying for Manufactured Home Installer License 
 

Are you a Veteran?  
If yes, please answer the following questions to see if you qualify for a fee waiver or equivalency for this credential. 
 

1. Are you requesting a waiver of your initial credentialing fee? 

� Yes Provide a copy of your Department of Veterans Affairs voucher code.     DVA Voucher Code: ____________ 

� No Submit the fee of $115. 
 

3. Are you requesting equivalency of your military training and experience?  

� Yes Provide copies of your service school academic reports, certificates of training, or training documentation signed by your unit’s 
training NCO or any other relevant experience that would satisfy the requirements of method 1, 2 or 3. You may attach a personal 
narrative to further explain why your education / training / experience in the military has helped you prepare for this profession. 

� No Complete the requirements under method 1, 2 or 3.  
 

You may contact DVA at 1-800-WisVets or www.WisVets.com for assistance in obtaining your DVA Voucher Code and/or 
documents related to your training and experience. 

 

A person may obtain a credential as a licensed manufactured home installer by submitting an application, an application fee, the license 
fee, and one of the following: 

Method 1 Evidence that the person holds a manufactured home installer license issued by the federal Department of Housing and 
Urban Development. 

Attach a copy of the federal license. 

Method 2 Evidence that the person holds a manufactured home installer license issued by a state administrative agency (SAA) that 
has an installer licensing program that is equivalent to the rules under this section.  

Attach a copy of the state license and attach the petition for variance form (SBD-9890) to demonstrate equivalency 
along with a check for the petition in the amount of $200 made payable to State of WI - DSPS.    See SPS 303. 

Method 3 Evidence that the person has completed at least 12 hours in an approved course or courses in the installation of 
manufactured homes within one year prior to the date of application. The course or courses shall include instruction in 
at least the following subject matter and one or more tests on the subject matter: 

a. Soil mechanics. 
b. Site preparation. 
c. Structural support, stabilization and anchorage. 
d. Setting. 
e. Ventilation of crawl spaces. 
f. Connections, plumbing, electrical, HVAC. 
g. Joining of home sections.  

Attach evidence that you have successfully completed an approved course. 

 


